EMYA is an acronym for European Museum of the Year Award. The prestigious annual award goes to a museum which excels in many respects and not least in terms of public engagement and outreach.

The award, as backed by the European Council, is not exclusively for art museums but museums of all kinds. Here you have the previous winners of the award in chronological order:

2015: Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam; Netherlands
2014: Museum of Innocence, Istanbul, Turkey
2013: Riverside Museum: Scotland’s Museum of Transport and Travel, Glasgow, United Kingdom
2012: Madinat al-Zahra Museum, Cordoba, Spain
2011: The Gallo-Roman Museum, Tongeren, Belgium
2010: Ozeaneum, Stralsund, Germany
2009: Salzburg Museum, Salzburg, Austria
2008: Kumu Art Museum, Tallinn, Estonia
2007: German Emigration Center, Bremerhaven, Germany
2006: CosmoCaixa, Barcelona, Spain
2005: The National Heritage Museum, Arnhem, Netherlands2004: MARQ, Archaeological Museum of Alicante, Spain
2002: Chester Beatty Library, Dublin, Ireland
2001: National Railway Museum, York, United Kingdom
1999: Musée Français de la Carte à Jouer, Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
1998: The Conservation Centre, Liverpool, United Kingdom
1997: Museum of Anatolian Civilizations, Ankara, Turkey
1996: Museum of the Romanian Peasant, Bucharest, Romania
1995: The Olympic Museum, Lausanne, Switzerland
1994: National Museum of Denmark, Copenhagen, Denmark
1993: Alta Museum, Alta, Norway
1992: State Museum of Technology and Work, Mannheim, Germany
1991: Leventis Museum of Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
1990: Ecomuseum of the Fourmies-Trélon Region, Fourmies, France
1989: Sundsvall Museum, Sundsvall, Sweden
1988: Brandts Klædefabrik, Odense, Denmark
1987: Beamish: North of England Open Air Museum, Stanley, United Kingdom
1984: Zuiderzee Museum, Enkhuizen, Netherlands
1983: Regional Museum (Museum Sarganserland), Sargans, Switzerland
1982: Museum of Art and History, Saint-Denis, France
1981: Folk Art Museum, Nafplion, Greece
1980: Catharine Convent State Museum, Utrecht, Netherlands
1979: Museum of the Camargue, Arles, France
1978: Schloss Rheydt Municipal Museum, Mönchengladbach, Germany
1977: Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust, Ironbridge, United Kingdom

Related article: The Rijksmuseum wins the EMYA – European Museum of the Year Award

Image credits: © European Museum Forum, some rights reserved

Return to the art glossary
Return to entries beginning with E