Vincent award, the

The name of a Dutch award which is given every second year to a European artist who has made a significant contribution to contemporary art. It has a longer and more bloated title of ‘The Vincent van Gogh Biennial Award for Contemporary Art’. The Vincent Award itself plays an important role in promoting art in society and to provide well-earned recognition to the nominated artists. In addition, the award was created by the Broere family as a charitable foundation in memory of Monique Zajfen.

Nominated artists mount an exhibition at Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam.

In 2010 and 2012 no one was awarded, which could suggest the future of the award might be uncertain. However, in 2014 it returned and the 2016 event is on the drawing board.

The following artists have received the award so far:
Eija-Liisa Ahtila, 2000
Neo Rauch, 2002
Pawel Althamer, 2004
Wilhelm Sasnal, 2006
Deimantas Narkevicius, Francis Alÿs, 2008
Anri Sala 2014

Return to the art glossary
Return to entries beginning with V